Macmillan Explorers Phonics

Phonics reading scheme for young learners

Teaching phonics is recognised educationally as an essential part of the teaching of reading and writing. Macmillan Explorers Phonics complements the first four levels of the Macmillan English Explorers in a way that will teach children how to sound out words, blend sounds to read words and segment the sounds in the words in order to spell them accurately.

Each book in the series has a strong, identifiable phonics focus. The series follows the scope and sequence of phonics skills taught in the Macmillan English Explorers Phonics Workbooks. 


G Budgell and Gill Munton

Key Features

  • Systematic, clearly defined and structured book-by-book progression of phonics teaching that is in line with the existing Phonics Workbooks from the Macmillan English Explorers series
  • The phonics focus is set within the context of a story to ensure that reading for meaning is retained
  • Popular and familiar characters from the Macmillan English Explorers series can be found, along with the introduction of new contexts and characters
  • Perfect for use alongside the Macmillan English Explorers to add further depth and context, or as a stand-alone phonics reading scheme
Filter this list

Publications & Digital Products